2022 Nichols Medal Nominations Due May 31st
A call for nominations for the William H. Nichols Medal is published in The Indicator each April with formal nominations and supporting letters due by the end of May.  Investigators who have published a significant and original contribution in any field of chemistry during the five calendar years preceding the presentation meeting are eligible for consideration by the Nichols Medal Jury.  The Nichols Medal Jury deliberates and makes their decision by July.  Download the Nomination Form here.  Nominations and supporting letters should be emailed to Nichols_Medal@newyorkacs.org by May 31st for full consideration.

For more information, please contact the Office Administrator.

William H. Nichols Medal
The William H. Nichols Medal recognizes outstanding contributions in the field of chemistry and is the first award authorized by the American Chemical Society.  Presented at a gala award dinner annually since 1903, the Nichols Medal encourages original research in chemistry.  Nichols Medal recipients are a singularly significant group of distinguished scientists which includes seventeen Nobel Laureates and twenty-five National Medal of Science recipients

Shown at left is 2020 Nichols Medalist Prof. Krzysztof Matyjaszewski of Carnegie Mellon University (bio) whose was recognized for the development of Atom Transfer Radical Polymerization (ATRP) on April 16, 2021.

2020 Nichols  Distinguished Symposium
The 2020 Nichols Medal was presented to Prof. Krzysztof Matyjaszewski of Carnegie Mellon University for the development of Atom Transfer Radical Polymerization (ATRP).  The medal presentation was preceded by the Nichols Distinguished Symposium that included the following talks:

William H. Nichols Medalists   (Complete list PDF) 
2020  Dr. Krzysztof Matyjaszewski      For the development of Atom Transfer Radical Polymerization
2019  Dr. Vicki H. Grassian                   For Contributions to Interfacial Environmental Chemistry
2018  Dr. Debra R. Rolison                   For Pioneering 3D Nanoarchitectures for Energy-relevant Materials
2017  Dr. Chad A. Mirkin                        For Pioneering Practical Applications of Nanochemistry
2016  Dr. Stephen L. Buchwald           For Landmark Contributions to Organometallic Chemistry,
                                                                  Ligand Design and Catalysis
2015  Dr. Gabor A. Somorjai                  For outstanding Contributions to the Elucidation of Novel
          National Medal of Science         Highly Selective Nanocatalysts
2014  Dr. Amos B. Smith, III                   For outstanding Contributions to Synthetic Organic Chemistry
2013  Dr. Richard Eisenberg                 Contributions to Inorganic Photochemistry
2012  Dr. Alan G. Marshall                     Advances in Fourier Transform Ion Cyclotron Resonance
                                                                  Mass Spectrometry
2011  Dr. Julius Rebek, Jr.                      Advances in the Science of Molecular Recognition and
2010  Dr. Tobin J. Marks                         Pioneering Research in Catalysis and Soft Matter Electronics
          National Medal of Science
2009  Dr. Carolyn R. Bertozzi                For New Methods at the Interface of Chemistry and Biology
2008  Dr. Nadrian C. Seeman                For Founding and Establishing the Field of Structural DNA
2007  Dr. Nicholas J. Turro                     For Pioneering Research on the Photochemistry of Organic 
                                                                   Molecules and Supramolecular Systems
2006  Dr. K. Barry Sharpless                  For Click Chemistry, A New Strategy for Chemical Discovery
           Nobel Laureate 
2005  Dr. Richard N. Zare                       For Pioneering Studies of Chemical Reactions on the Molecular
           National Medal of Science         Level
2004  Dr. Allen J. Bard                            For the Invention and Development of the Scanning
           National Medal of Science         Electrochemical Microscope (SECM)
2003  Dr. Harry B. Gray                           For The Currents of Life: Electron Flow Through Iron and Copper
           National Medal of Science         Proteins
2002  Dr. Alan G. MacDiarmid                For Outstanding Contributions to the Field of Conducting
           Nobel Laureate                             Polymers
2001   Dr. Stuart L. Schreiber                  For Outstanding Contributions to Understanding Signal
                                                                    Transduction Pathways by Merging Synthetic Organic Chemistry
                                                                    and Molecular Cell Biology Approaches
2000  Dr. Barry M. Trost                           For Outstanding Contributions in the Use of Novel 
                                                                     Methodologies for Synthetic Chemistry